Priaires(s)

Priaire(s), which is written with or without the final "s", is quoted for the first time in 1044 in the cartular of the abbey of St-Jean-d'Angély and belonged to the Aunis under the generality and election of La Rochelle, then Deux-Sèvres in 1790. Its terroir was once in one of the Cognac appellation areas. The vines, cultivated over a large area, produced excellent spirits until the phylloxera crisis of 1873, gradually giving way to cooperative dairies and cereal crops. In 2019, the village merges with Usseau and Thorigny-s.-le-Mignon to form the new commune of Val-du-Mignon. It is by taking the time to stroll that we discover the richness of the rural built heritage strongly inspired by the architecture of the nearby Charente department.

To see: Notre-Dame church (baptismal font of 1629).

Priaires(s) - 79210 VAL-DU-MIGNON

Go there with Google Maps

Nearby